Monday, January 7, 2013

Steinberg Announces Senate Public Safety Committee Members

California State Senate President pro Tem Darrell Steinberg announced today he is appointing Senator Loni Hancock (D-Berkeley) to chair the Senate Public Safety Committee.  The Senate Public Safety Committee is responsible for legislation changing criminal procedure, the Penal Code, and other criminal sanctions.  The other committee members will be Joel Anderson (R-Alpine), Marty Block (D-San Diego), Kevin de Léon (D-Los Angeles), Steve Knight (R-Antelope Valley), Carol Liu (D-Inland Empire), and Darrell Steinberg (D-Sacramento).  Sen. Hancock with also chair the budget sub-committee on Corrections, Public Safety, and the Judiciary.